Association for Manufacturing Technology elects new board of directors, officers

By AMT news release

Mar 21, 2016

The Association For Manufacturing Technology ( has elected its 2016-2017 officers and directors. The 2016-2017 board year begins April 1, 2016.

The AMT Board of Directors — which represents the American manufacturing technology industry — named Richard L. Simons, President/CEO, Hardinge Inc. ( to serve as Chairman. He follows Chairman Jerry Rex, Executive Vice President, Concept Machine Tool (


Get Plant Services delivered to your inbox Monday through Friday! Sign up for  Plant Services' complimentary Smart Minute (Monday-Thursday) and Smart Digest  (Friday) e-newsletters to get maintenance and reliability know-how you can put  to use today, plus the latest manufacturing news from around the Web, white  papers, and more. Learn more and subscribe for free today.

“It is an honor and privilege to step into this leadership role at AMT after a long career in this industry that I love,” said Simons. “For many years Hardinge has been an active participant in this organization and I am proud to keep that legacy alive. The staff and the Board of AMT are committed to providing its members with information, resources, and a great IMTS 2016 to help manufacturing thrive as a most critical component of the global economy. Under Jerry Rex’s leadership, we have gained important forward momentum and I promise to do my best to keep that going in the coming year.”

The Board elected Ronald S. Karaisz II, President, Novi Precision Products, Inc. ( to serve as First Vice Chairman. Steven R. Stokey, Executive Vice President/Owner, Allied Machine & Engineering Corp. ( will serve as Second Vice Chairman/Treasurer. Brian J. Papke, President, Mazak Corporation ( was elected Secretary.

Newly elected to a three-year term as a member of the association’s Board of Directors are Donald D. Lane, CEO, Makino (; and Ralph Resnick, President and Executive Director, National Center for Defense Manufacturing and Machining (