National Manufacturing Strategy Act, H.R. 4692, to promote American job creation


Mar 10, 2010

Congressman Dan Lipinski (D-Ill.) has introduced the bipartisan National Manufacturing Strategy Act, H.R. 4692, to help American manufacturing rebound from recent job losses and to ensure it is equipped to thrive in the 21st Century. The bill will result in a long-term plan for bolstering domestic manufacturing that reflects the input of a diverse array of industry leaders and stakeholders and that consists of non-binding goals and recommendations with broad private-sector support.

Although there are numerous federal programs to support American manufacturing, overall our manufacturing policy is disjointed, ad hoc, and reactive. Meanwhile, manufacturers in other countries benefit from more focused policymaking. Under the National Manufacturing Strategy Act, the Administration in consultation with a newly established Manufacturing Strategy Board would conduct an in-depth analysis of the nation’s manufacturing sector and develop a comprehensive strategy for enhancing its competitiveness and promoting its success in the global economy. The Manufacturing Strategy Board would consist of 21 industry leaders and stakeholders from across the country, representing businesses both large and small.

The aim of the strategy, to be issued every four years, is to harmonize manufacturing policy across the government and ensure that it is unified, coherent, forward-looking, and results-oriented. It would yield specific goals and recommendations for all levels of government and the private sector. The Government Accountability Office would be tasked with reviewing the strategy development process and analyzing the implementation of recommendations. In addition, the National Academies of Science would be required to conduct periodic in-depth studies on manufacturing and related issues to aid policymakers in their quadrennial review.

In developing this legislation, Congressman Lipinski reached out to many experts and organizations involved in manufacturing, including national industry organizations, corporations, labor unions, academics, think tanks, federal agencies, and others. The final bill represents their feedback, comments, and suggestions.

Cosponsors of the National Manufacturing Strategy Act include: Representatives Bruce Braley (Chair, Populist Caucus), Aaron Schock, Vern Ehlers, Tim Johnson, Tim Ryan (Co-Chair, Manufacturing Caucus), Don Manzullo (Co-Chair, Manufacturing Caucus), Betty Sutton, Phil Hare, John Dingell, Mike Michaud (Chair, House Trade Working Group), Marcy Kaptur (Co-Chair, Jobs NOW! Caucus), Pete Visclosky (Co-Chair, House Steel Caucus), Charlie Wilson, Linda Sanchez (Co-Chair, Labor and Working Families Caucus), Steve Kagen, Bart Stupak, Stephen Lynch (Co-Chair, Labor & Working Families Caucus), Dave Loebsack, Kathy Dahlkemper, Keith Ellison, Brad Ellsworth, Tom Perriello, Dale Kildee, Gary Peters, Carol Shea-Porter, Gene Taylor, and John Sarbanes.