Are your motors up to the 'Act'?

Source: Today's Medical Developments

Dec 29, 2009

Dec. 19, 2010, is not that far away, and when we reach that date, everyone who buys NEMA frame motors 140 frame and up, as well as IEC frames 90 and up, will have to make sure they are purchasing and specifying newly compliant motors.

The Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007 (EISA), signed into law on Dec. 19, 2007, goes into effect on Dec. 19, 2010. EISA mandates the minimum efficiency of electric motors produced after this date for sale in the United States and raises the energy-efficiency standards from the Energy Policy Act of 1992 (EPAct). This impacts a range of industrial motors. EISA builds upon the previous EPAct, updating mandated efficiency standards for general-purpose, three-phase AC industrial motors from 1hp to 200hp, and adds levels for some 1hp to 500 hp motors previously not covered in EPAct.

Like EPAct, EISA mandates the minimum efficiency levels of motors sold in the United States at the point of the motor manufacturer or importer. Plus, any completed equipment that is brought into the United States for sale containing a motor that fits 1hp to 500hp requirements, as specified in EISA, must meet the efficiency requirements of the law.

For each general-purpose rating motors (subtype I) from 1hp to 200hp, the law specifies a nominal full-load efficiency level based on NEMA Premium efficiency. All motors currently under EPAct, manufactured after Dec. 19, 2010, must meet or exceed this efficiency level.

General-purpose electric motors (subtype II ), those not previously covered by EPAct, will be required to comply with the Energy Efficient standards as defined by NEMA MG1, Table 12-11. The term "general-purpose electric motor (subtype II )" means motors incorporating the design elements of a general-purpose electric motor (subtype I) that are configured as one of the following:

  • U-Frame motor
  • Design C motor
  • Close-coupled pump motor
  • Footless motor
  • Vertical solid shaft normal thrust motor
  • An eight-pole motor (900rpm)
  • A poly-phase motor with voltage of not more than 600V (other than 230V or 460V)
  • 201hp to 500hp motors not previously covered by EPAct will be required to comply with energy-efficient standards as defined by NEMA MG1, Table 12-11.

Only 1hp to 500hp motors with three-digit frame NEMA numbers — 143T and up — are included in EISA, also including equivalent IEC frame designations.